top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMichael Jitchaku

Getting Ready to Leave

Before I even left for Korea, there were a few things that I needed to do. Whether it was to get into the MIX program, or do any other official paperwork things, there was a lot to complete and without keeping track of deadlines it can become overwhelming at the least. So below I will try to outline most of the things that I did before leaving and include problems, thoughts, or tips from my various experiences.


Applying for MIX (Manoa International Exchange Program):

The process for this isn't difficult, and is rather straightforward. But the things required can be a little time consuming. When looking at when you want to study abroad in MIX keep in mind you're applying a little less than one year in advance of when you want to go. Keep updated on important dates by either contacting them or checking their websites. One important note, is that you need a letter of recommendation from a professor/lecturer/etc. So if you can, try to inquire with someone you were able to develop a connection with (If you have yet to do so, now's a good time to start!) Finally, the process can feel lengthy until the ball starts rolling, and all of a sudden there's a bunch of things you need to do. Make sure you do them ASAP; that way you won't feel stressed as deadlines and reminders approach you.


Passport/Visa:

For a lot of you, a passport may be something that you already have and don't need to worry about. In my case, I never had one. As a UH Manoa student, luckily you can go through the whole application process at Campus Center. (Tip: Call really far in advance as they can be booked for the next month or so. Also, the passport photos are cheap here) If you would prefer, there are other locations that may be more accessible or convenient for you around the island. Make sure to bring a checkbook, cash, and other required documents and you shouldn't have any problems. The whole process takes about a month to complete.


For obtaining a visa, you will need the official admission documents from your respective university before heading to your countries consulate. Do your best to fill-out the application, and if there are any errors, the people there will help you to correct them. The fee is payable in cash only. If applying for a single entry visa, you should do it closer to when you will be staying in Korea as the limitation is 5 months, otherwise you will need to repeat the process in Korea. The process to get your visa takes around two weeks time. So keep that in mind before going abroad as they hold your passport until it is complete.


Side note: I also applied for TSA global entry in attempt to avoid lines and hassles while you study abroad. It is something for you to consider and is relatively affordable at $100 for 5 years. This also includes TSA pre-check for domestic travels. I will update how well this pays off when hopefully traveling in the future.


Housing Accomodations:

When it came to housing registration, I tried to first get the dorms as for me the process would be more convenient. However, despite how early you may try to register, spaces are limited, and is not guaranteed. I did not get the dorms, but there was a waiting list that I was placed on. I preferred not to chance that, and instead opted for a Goshiwon, (a fairly small sized room) that I could guarantee my stay at. Unfortunately, about a month after the initial registration process I was notified that I was eligible to dorm. If that is something that you want to risk you can hold off until then. Housing can be very affordable and depending which route you want to take there are numerous options either being dorms, goshiwon, Airbnb, etc.


Class Registration:

Registering classes is a little different for Yonsei University. In the initial phase, you are given a certain number of miles to bid on your classes. Each class has a minimum and maximum amount of points that you can bid on it. I tried to bid the most on my business classes as I needed to take them, but I still didn't get all of them so your mileage may vary. Following this, there is the first wait-list period. You can sign-up for classes that don't have wait-lists or wait for ones who do. You are automatically wait-listed for classes that you bid on if you don't get in. (Tip: I didn't do this, but you should sign up for the alternative classes that you will take assuming you don't get your desired choices. That way you won't be scrambling for classes in the last part of the process.) Finally, there will be the add-drop period which I will talk more about once I experience it in a later post; to my understanding, it's like any other add-drop period but it is also more competitive as it doesn't take place until the later half of the first week of classes.


Note: I will also be posting my final schedule of classes that I manage to get into later.


Money/Packing/Trip Details:

Having your countries currency before going there is a great convenience factor, but in the worst case, there are exchanges at the airport that you can utilize. Try not to carry too much cash, but whatever is necessary for you because cash can be lost easily.


In terms of packing, I packed all my clothes and essentials into one suitcase and nested it in another in the event I needed a second suitcase. I only packed about 2 weeks worth of clothes and about one weeks worth of winter clothes (that's all I have). I also had purchased a power converter and adapter to make sure that I can power any electronics that I had (they use the two circular prong adapter in Korea).


Even though I had been looking for flights the whole time since I started my MIX application, I hadn't booked my flight until about a month or so before planning to leave. You can use Google Flights, SkyScanner or other websites to help you find a good deal.


Once I get to Korea I'll be providing updates at least every other week! Feel free to ask me if you have any questions or inquiries.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page